The Act of Killing

We should probably have an extra VA screening in May to watch this film together! Meanwhile thanks Alexandra,

serendipityscraps

Although, I had the chance to watch The Act of Killing (2012) during a film festival in Budapest (“Ha Érteni Akarod a Világod”, 2013), I have to admit that I’ve been hesitating to write about it. I can’t figure it out if it was the overwhelming 115 min during which I kept repeating to myself “this can’t be real” or when I tried to make myself believe that in the end the filmmaker will intervene saying that the movie is just a macabre re-construction of imagined mass-killings attributed to some patients from a mental institution. And yes, he intervened in the end. I don’t know but this intervention kind of ‘crushed’ me and made me re-consider my experience of watching this movie.

act-of-killing-2

That is why, besides finding it very disturbing in content and event, it left me with the impression of a multi-layered documentary, very powerful and complex in…

View original post 1,173 more words

Leave a Reply

Visual notes

Spring // 2017

Notes on visual travels

Visual anthropology blog by Liza Havrylenko

BRIGADIRKA

moving images / standing ovations

william uricchio

this is not a blog....

Visual Anthropology Diaries

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

steamycerebrum

interdisciplinary meditations on art and culture

twelvesignificantphotographs

Kylie's Visual Anthropology Blog

Visual Anthropology, 2015

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

Visual Anthropology CEU 2015 Svetlana's Notes

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

Anthropological Diaries

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

visual anthropology CEU

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

tristes carpathians

Blog of the Visual Anthropology course at CEU

